Archives

It has become something of a challenge for me to retain all of my podcasts in archives. So, I have decided to retain only three months. If you really, really want to hear something from earlier podcasts, please go to the About & Contact page and send me a request. I should be able to dig it up for you. Thanks!

--Michael Funke

February 2022

The Radical Songbook Playlist

February 2022

 

1.      I’m On My Way/ Barbara Dane/ https://www.barbaradane.net/

2.      Stand Up, Rise Up/ Kemp Harris/ https://www.kempharris.band/

3.      The Negro Speaks of Rivers/ Langston Hughes/ http://www.langstonhughessociety.org/

4.      I, Too/ Langston Hughes

5.      Elevator Boy/ Langston Hughes

6.      The Weary Blues/ Langston Hughes

7.      Stand Up. Rise Up/ Kemp Harris/ https://www.kempharris.band/

8.      Our Life is More Than Our Work/ Charlie King/ https://www.charlieking.org/

9.      Are You Now or Have You Ever Been/ Charlie King

10.  Children of God/ Charlie King and Karen Brandow/

11.  Homeland Uber Alles/ Charlie King and Karen Brandow/

12.  I Don’t Play By the Rules/ Wayne Newcome/ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bpTF6EzrQTE

13.  Fuckalot/ The Layabouts/ https://www.facebook.com/layaboutsdetroit/

14.  Ass with the Class/ Red Shadow/ https://dangerousminds.net/comments/red_shadow_the_economics_rock_and_roll_band_from_the_1970s

15.  Capitalism PSA/ San Francisco Mime Troupe/ https://www.sfmt.org/

16.  Come Along/ Mary Lou Fulton/ https://maryloufulton.com

17.  I’m a Goin’ Fishin’/ Big Trout Radio/ amazon.com (digital music)

18.  Gone Fishin’ Today/ Big Trout Radio/ amazon.com (digital music)

19.  Voodoo Lady/ Jumpin’ Joyce Respess (Cooking intro)

Bonus Playlist

Celebrate Black History Month with music on The Original Radical Songbook at Mixcloud.com:

https://www.mixcloud.com/MichaelFunke/the-original-radical-songbook_celebrating-black-history-month_february-2022/

Something to Talk About

Fishing with Jeff

Cooking with the Wood Sisters

Sally Wood's Truffles

 

I. OREO TRUFFLES

 

Ingredients:

36 chocolate Oreo cookies

8 oz. cream cheese at room temperature

 

Directions:

1. Crush the Oreos in a plastic bag with a rolling pin or in a food processor until fine crumbs form.

2. Mix with softened cream cheese.

3. Shape into three-quarter-inch to one-inch balls and place on a rimmed cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

4. Roll in topping of your choice or coat with melted chocolate.

Possible toppings/coatings: unsweetened cocoa, white chocolate or chocolate sprinkles, powdered sugar, white chocolate or chocolate chips – or a combination of the two.

5. Let harden on a cookie sheet in the refrigerator.

6. Store in an airtight container with parchment or waxed paper between layers in the refrigerator

 

Possible cookie substitutions: vanilla, mint, or lemon Oreos; Nilla Wafers, molasses cookies, cookie of your choice. The choices are endless.

 

 

II. MOCHA TRUFFLES

Ingredients:

24 oz. Semi-sweet chocolate chips

8 oz. Package cream cheese, softened to room temperature

3 Tbsp. instant coffee granules or 2 tsp. instant espresso powder

 

Directions:

1. Melt all of the ingredients together in either a double boiler or a microwave oven. Remove from heat. Let sit until cool enough to shape into one-inch balls.

2. Shape and place on rimmed parchment paper lined cookie sheets.

3. Roll or dip with coating of your choice. Coating choices: Melted dark, semisweet or white chocolate coating; cocoa powder; chopped nuts; confectioners sugar; toffee bits; sprinkles of all colors; or coating of your choice.

4. Let harden on a cookie sheet in the refrigerator.

5. Store in an airtight container with parchment paper or waxed paper between layers in the refrigerator.

March 2022

The Radical Songbook

March 2022 Playlist

 

  1. Sing Me a Song with Social Significance/ Rebel Voices/ www.rebelvoices.com

  2. Working Class Woman/ Barbara Dane/ www.barbaradane.net

  3. Working People Gonna Rise/ Bev Grant/ https://bevgrant.com/

  4. Turning Water Into Wine/ Jumpin’ Joyce Respess/

  5. Hangin’ On/ Jillian Matundan/ https://jillianmatundan.com/

  6. Hunger/ Red Shadow/ https://dangerousminds.net/comments/red_shadow_the_economics_rock_and_roll_band_from_the_1970s

  7. March On/ The ReSistas/

  8. The Rebel Girl/ Cathy Richardson/ https://cathyrichardson.com/

  9. The Red Flag/ Yvonne Moore/ https://pmpress.org/index.php?l=product_detail&p=561

  10. For Gene Debs/ Amy Sue Berlin/ http://www.amysueberlin.com/

  11. If the Workers Take a Notion/ Al Bradbury/ https://labornotes.org/

  12. Union Woman/ Lynn Marie Smith/

  13. Days of Theocracy/ Kristin Lems/ https://kristinlems.com/

  14. Defenders of Marriage/ Anne Feeney/ https://annefeeney.com/

  15. Not Going Back/ Mary Lou Fulton/ https://maryloufulton.com/

  16. There is a Wall/ Rebel Voices/ www.rebelvoices.com

  17. This Wall/ Colleen Kattau/ https://colleenkattau.com/

  18. Hope Revolution/ Crys Matthews/ www.crysmatthews.com

  19. The Resistance Song/ Jill Sobule/ www.jillsobule.com

  20. Uppity/ Laura Love/ https://lauralovemusic.bandcamp.com/

  21. Hang on Girl/ Bev Grant/ https://bevgrant.com/

  22. Tell Me How Long Blues/ Barbara Dane/ www.barbaradane.net

  23. Come Along/ Mary Lou Fulton/ https://maryloufulton.com/

April 2022

Fishing with Jeff

Flyfishing, Habitat & Conservation Organizations

 

Trout Unlimited https://www.tu.org

 

Central Oregon Flyfishers https://www.coflyfishers.org

 

Upper Deschutes Watershed Council https://www.upperdeschuteswatershedcouncil.org

 

Deschutes River Conservancy https://www.deschutesriver.org

 

Coalition for the Deschutes https://coalitionforthedeschutes.org

Deschutes Land Trust https://www.deschuteslandtrust.org

 

Western Rivers Conservancy https://www.westernrivers.org

 

Waterwatch https://waterwatch.org

 

Freshwater Trust www.thefreshwatertrust.org

Deschutes River Alliance https://deschutesriveralliance.org/

The Flyfishers Place https://flyfishersplace.com/

The songs—I’m Going Fishing and Gone Fishing—are from the Big Trout Radio CD by Artie Traum, Chris Shaw and Tom Connelly Akstens, available on various music sites.

The Radical Songbook

April 2022 Playlist

 

  1. Sing Me a Song with Social Significance/ Rebel Voices/ www.rebelvoices.com

  2. Basic/ Mosley WOtta/ https://wakerecords.org/mosley-wotta/

  3. Power 2 the People/ Mic Crenshaw and David Rovics featuring Opium Sabbah/ https://naame.org/take-the-power-back/

  4. Inez/ Bev Grant and the Human Condition/ https://bevgrant.com/

  5. Together We Can Move Mountains/ Bev Grant and the Human Condition/ https://bevgrant.com/

  6. We Were There/ Bev Grant/ https://bevgrant.com/

  7. I Am a Sewing Machine/ Bev Grant/ https://bevgrant.com/

  8. Mama’s Leavin’ Home/ Bev Grant and the Dissident Daughters/ https://bevgrant.com/

  9. Tired of Bastards/ Bev Grant and the Dissident Daughters/ https://bevgrant.com/

  10. I’ve Been Kissed By a Communist/ Charlie King w/ Martha Leader/ https://www.charlieking.org/

  11. I Kissed a Girl/ Jill Sobule/ https://www.jillsobule.com/

  12. Love Revolution/ Suzi Kory/ https://suzikory.com/

  13. I Won’t Put Up With It/ Taylor Abrahamse/ https://taylorabrahamse.ca/

  14. Juneteenth/ Fyutch featuring Alphabet Rockers/ https://www.fyutch.com/family-tree

  15. I Need Your Light/ Eric H.F. Law/ https://erichflaw.hearnow.com/

  16. No Interest in That/ Brant Miller/ https://brantmillermusic.com/

  17. Welcome Home/ Michael and Nell/ https://michaelandnell.com/

  18. Millennial Woman/ Stephanie Chou/ http://www.stephaniechoumusic.com/

  19. Our Turn Now/ Len Seligman/ https://lenseligman.com/

  20. Stand Up, Rise Up/ Kemp Harris/ https://www.kempharris.band/

  21. Come Along/ Mary Lou Fulton/ https://maryloufulton.com/home

Kathryn Wood’s Grilled or Baked Salmon Salad

 

Ingredients, gauge amounts to the number of people you are feeding:

 

1. Baked or grilled salmon fillet for each person: Preheat grill or preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Place fillets in lightly oiled baking pan skin side down. Add salt and pepper to taste. Squeeze on fresh lemon juice. Lightly cover with teriyaki sauce. Let sit (marinate) for 10 minutes. Bake in preheated oven for 15 – 20 minutes depending on the thickness of the fillets. The salmon will continue baking for a few minutes once it is removed from the oven; be careful not to over bake.

OR, place marinated fillets on preheated and lightly oiled grill skin side down. Grill until done: approximately 5 – 8 minutes, depending again on the thickness of the fillets.

 

2. Toasted pecans: Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Spread desired amount of pecans on a rimmed baking sheet. For two people, I use a cake pan. Toast in preheated oven for approximately 9 minutes. Watch carefully. Pecans burn easily. Remove from oven. Cool.

 

3.  Mixed greens of your choice. I have been using a triple washed baby spring green mix.

 

4. Baked, sliced and peeled red beets. (Baked and peeled beets are often available in a grocery store’s fresh produce section.)

 

5. Sliced hard boiled eggs.

 

6. Cleaned and sliced green onions.

 

7. Oranges peeled, segmented and sliced into bite-size pieces.

 

8. Diced avocado.

 

9. Grated Parmesan cheese.

 

10. Add or substitute other ingredients of your choice like diced apple, fresh berries, cooked vegetables. Or replace the salmon with other kinds of fish, beef, chicken, tofu or beans.

 

11. Your favorite salad dressing, homemade or bottled.

 

12. Salt and pepper to taste.

 

13. Fresh lemon: squeeze juice on salmon before baking or grilling.

 

Directions:

 

1. Assemble all the salad ingredients except the salmon. Toss. Place in bowls.

Or, set up a salad bar where diners can assemble their own salads. Add dressing, salt and pepper.

 

2. Top the individual salads with a salmon fillet.

 

A crusty bread, a tasty cheese and a good wine make great accompaniments – and make baked salmon salad for dinner special.

 

If you are having guests or celebrating a special occasion, I suggest you end the meal with a homemade apple tart.