Archives

It has become something of a challenge for me to retain all of my podcasts in archives. So, I have decided to retain only two months. If you really, really want to hear something from earlier podcasts, please go to the About & Contact page and send me a request. I should be able to dig it up for you. Thanks!

--Michael Funke

August 2022

Carolina Afre, Workforce Navigator at LCA, helps Central Oregon Latinos find jobs and start businesses
The Cascades Radio Hour and Schizoclectic Playlists with DJ Jim at Central Oregon's Jive Radio

Homemade lemonade

only takes three ingredients

 

  • 1 cup organic fresh-squeezed or bottled lemon juice

  • 5 cups cold filtered water

  • 2/3 cup organic granulated sugar

 

Optional garnishes: fresh mint leaves, lemon slices, fresh raspberries

         

Follow these simple steps:

 

First, to a 2-quart pretty glass pitcher add 1 cup lemon juice, 3 cups cold water, and 2/3 cup granulated sugar. Stir until the sugar is dissolved. I use a slotted spoon and count to 120 while I am stirring. The sugar is dissolved when I am done counting.

 

Second, add the last 2 cups of cold water and stir to combine.  Then refrigerate until well chilled.

 

Pour the chilled lemonade over ice cubes in tall glasses and dress it up by garnishing each glass with fresh mint, lemon slices, and/or fresh raspberries.

 

Lemonade also tastes good in a 50-50 mix with tonic water, seltzer or iced tea (an Arnold Palmer).

September 2022

The Radical Songbook

September 2022 Playlist

  1. Sing Me a Song with Social Significance/ Rebel Voices/ www.rebelvoices.com/

  2. L’Internationale/ Len Wallace/ https://worldaccordion.tripod.com/

  3. Rise as One/ Joe Jencks/ www.joejencks.com

  4. Hanging On/ Jillian Matundan/ https://jillianmatundan.com/

  5. Heart of Nat Turner/ Laura Love/ https://lauralovemusic.bandcamp.com/

  6. Basic/ MOsley WOtta/ https://wakerecords.org/mosley-wotta/

  7. Free Leonard Peltier/ Mat Callahan & Yvonne Moore/ https://matandyvonne.com/

  8. I’m a Friend of the Fetus/ Rebel Voices/ www.rebelvoices.com

  9. Sisters Keeper/ Crys Matthews/ www.crysmatthews.com

  10. Dangerous Women/ Colleen Kattau/ https://colleenkattau.com/

  11. Tired of Bastards/ Bev Grant and the Dissident Daughters/ https://bevgrant.com/

  12. Days of Theocracy/ Kristin Lems/ https://kristinlems.com/

  13. Not Going Back/ Mary Lou Fulton/ https://maryloufulton.com/

  14. Two Good Arms/ Charlie King/ www.charlieking.org

  15. We Only Turn Right Around Here/ George Mann/ https://georgemann.org/

  16. Governments Lie/ The Layabouts/ www.facebook.com/layaboutsdetroit/

  17. The Preacher and the Slave/ Mike Glick and Generations/ https://generations-music.com/

  18. Hope, Struggle and Change/ Roy Zimmerman/ www.royzimmerman.com

  19. Come and Join Us in a Union Song/ Paul McKenna/ http://paulmckennamusic.com/

  20. How Much Longer/ Al Bradbury/ https://labornotes.org/

  21. Dump the Bosses/ Anne Feeney/ https://music.apple.com/us/artist/anne-feeney/60543660

  22. Hellraiser (A tribute to Anne Feeney)/ Evan Greer/ https://evangreer.org/

Grandma Sittig’s Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients

 

3 cups sugar

4 eggs        

1 cup oil

2/3 cup water

2 cups canned pumpkin (16 oz. Can)

3 ½ cups all-purpose flour        

2 tsp baking soda

1 ½ tsp salt

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp baking powder                                  

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.

2. Oil/grease the bottom of 4 small or 3 large loaf pans.   

3. Mix sugar and eggs together. Add oil and water. Mix.

4. Add remaining ingredients and mix until incorporated.

5. Bake at 325 degree oven for 40 minutes – 1 hour.

6. Cool for 15 minutes in pans. Remove from pans and finish cooling on wire racks.

 

Optional ingredients: 1 cup chopped walnuts, dark chocolate chips, raisins, and/or cranberries

Jeff Perin’s Book List

 

  1. Curtis Creek Manifesto, by Sheridan Anderson

  2. Lords of the Fly, by Monte Burke

  3. The River Why, by David James Duncan

  4. A River Runs Through It, by Norman Maclean

  5. Home Waters, by Joseph Monninger

  6. Fly Fishing Small Streams, by John Gierach

  7. Lessons of Fairsized Creek, by John Huber

  8. Bug Water, by Arlen Thomason

  9. Mayflies, by Robert Cormier and Malcom Knopp

  10. Caddisflies, by Gary La Fontaine

  11. Mayflies the Angler and the Trout, by Fred L Arbona Jr.

  12. Dynamic Nymphing, by George Daniel

  13. Tactical Fly Fishing, by Devin Olsen